Angela Rose Books

Romancing History One Story At A Time

Practice Makes Perfect! October 29, 2012

Filed under: Angela Rose Books Blog — angelarosebooks @ 6:01 pm

Angela Rose- Author

Its only a few short days away from the start of NaNo WriMo!!!  For those of you who are not familiar with NaNo WriMo it stands for National Novel Writing Month!  It begins on November 1st and runs until the 30th.   www.nanowrimo.orgNaNo WriMo challenges anyone to write a novel or at least begin a novel in 30 days.  Their focus is the word count, and not so much content.  I’m OCD………..this is an aspect of writing I have struggle with.  I just want to get the story out, and I want perfection the first time.  Totally not realistic!

This will be the first year I participate!  What makes this year different?  I was introduced to NaNo WriMo last year, and thought there is just no way I’m going to be able write 50k words in one month.   After a year of working on my novels, I realized I have a horrible habit.  I edit as I write the first draft of a manuscript!  Not that its wrong, but it surely slows down my word count.  There is always times for revisions later 🙂

So not only am I giving myself a 50k word goal, I’m giving myself the goal of focusing on getting my story onto paper, or in my case into Microsoft Word!

Good luck to all those who are planning on participating!

 

Leave a Reply

